On January 4, 2017, Secretary of Homeland Security Jeh Johnson has redesignated Yemen for Temporary Protected Status (TPS) and extended the existing TPS designation for the country for an additional 18 months, from March 4, 2017, through Sept. 3, 2018.

This redesignation allows nationals of Yemen (or persons without nationality who last habitually resided in Yemen) to register or re-register for TPS in accordance with the Federal Register notice published January 4, 2017.